People

Research Faculty

Amy Adamson

Amy Adamson

Professor
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

aladamso@uncg.edu
201 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0312
Website

Host and viral pathogen interactions.

Ramji Bjandari

Ramji Bhandari

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Hokkaido University

rkbhanda@uncg.edu
405 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0493
Website

Gene Environment Interactions and Epigenetics

Louis-Marie Bobay

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ljbobay@uncg.edu
Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391
Website

Microbial genomics and evolution

Robert Cannon

Robert E. Cannon

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., University of Delaware

Robert_Cannon@uncg.edu
441 Eberhart Building
336) 256-0071

Microbial/molecular genetics, microbial ecology, and textile application of bacterial cellulose.

Stanley Faeth

Stanley H. Faeth

Professor and Associate Dean of Research
Ph.D., Florida State University

shfaeth@uncg.edu
312 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391
Website

Ecology and evolution of plant-microbe-herbivore interactions; urban ecology.

Vincent Henrich

Vincent C. Henrich

Professor Emeritus
Ph.D., The Ohio State University

vincent_henrich@uncg.edu
211 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4775

Gene-environment interactions affecting human conditions; nuclear receptor biology.

Mark Hens

Mark D. Hens

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Medical University of South Carolina

mdhens@uncg.edu
424 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4945

Cell adhesion and migration in vertebrate development.

Anne Hershey

Anne E. Hershey

Julia Taylor Morton Distinguished Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

Anne_Hershey@uncg.edu
326 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-2473
Website

Aquatic ecology, trophic interactions in lakes and streams.

Zhenquan Jia

Zhenquan Jia

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Insitute and State University (Virginia Tech)

z_jia@uncg.edu
321 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0078

Free radical toxicology; environmental cardiovascular inflammation and injury; redox signaling; amelioration of vascular dysfunction and toxicity with bioactive compounds.

Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell

Matina Kalcounis-Rüppell

Professor and Department Head
Ph.D., University of Western Ontario

matina_kalcounis@uncg.edu
435 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-2590
Website

Behavior, ecology, and energetic of wild mammals especially bats and rodents.

Karen Katula

Karen S. Katula

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University

kskatula@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4951

Molecular mechanisms regulating cell growth, differentiation, and cancer progression with a focus on the Wnt cell signaling pathway and gene regulation.

Bruce Kirchoff

Bruce Kirchoff

Professor
Ph.D., Duke University

kirchoff@uncg.edu
404 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4953
Website

Plant morphology and development, systematics

John Z. Kiss

John Z. Kiss

Professor & Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Ph.D., Rutgers University

jzkiss@uncg.edu
312 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391

Plant physiology and development; space biology

Sally Koerner

Sally Koerner

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of New Mexico

Sally.Koerner@uncg.edu
339 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5393
Website

Ecology (community, ecosystem, and plant ecology); drivers of biodiversity across spatial scales and through time

Elizabeth Lacey

Elizabeth P. Lacey

Professor Emerita
Ph.D., University of Michigan

eplacey@uncg.edu
417 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4955
Website

Evolutionary plant ecology, reproductive biology, thermal acclimation of plants, maternal effects, responses to global warming.

Esther M. Leise

Esther Leise

Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington

Esther_Leise@uncg.edu
427 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4957
Website

Neuroendocrine control of metamorphosis in marine molluscs, invertebrate neuroanatomy and neurophysiology.

John J. Lepri

John J. Lepri

Professor and Director of General Biology
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

jjlepri@uncg.edu
419 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4132
Website

Research in mammalian reproduction, Biology Honors liaison, and teacher licensure coordinator.

Yashomati Patel

Yashomati Patel

Professor
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

ympatel@uncg.edu
207 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0080

Molecular and cellular mechanisms regulating glucose homeostasis, type 2 diabetes, and breast cancer.

Promod Pratap

Promod Pratap

Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D., Syracuse University

pratapp@uncg.edu
322 Petty Building
(336) 334-3214
Website

Physical chemistry of membrane transport proteins.

Kasie Raymonn

Kasie Raymann

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ktrayman@uncg.edu
321 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391
Website

Evolution and dynamics of microbial communities

David L. Remington

David L. Remington

Associate Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

dlreming@uncg.edu
226 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4967
Website

Molecular genetics of plant morphological evolution, plant genomics.

Parke A. Rublee

Parke A. Rublee

Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

rublee@uncg.edu
409 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0067

Microbial food chains in aquatic ecosystems, harmful algal blooms.

Olav Rueppell

Olav Rueppell

Professor
Ph.D., University of Wuerzburg

olav_rueppell@uncg.edu
206 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-2591
Website

Causes and consequences of social evolution in insects and honey bee health.

Malcolm D. Schug

Malcolm D. Schug

Associate Professor and Associate Head
Ph.D., Ohio State University

mdschug@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0086
Website

Evolutionary genetics, molecular population genetics.

Robert H. Stavn

Robert H. Stavn

Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

stavnr@uncg.edu
315 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 334-4979
Website

Optical oceanography, aquatic ecology, ecology, zooplankton, and lake optics.

Paul Steimle

Paul Steimle

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., Cleveland State University

p_steiml@uncg.edu
102 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4949

Regulation of cytoskeletal dynamics and cell motility.

John Tomkiel Dean

John Tomkiel Dean

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Washington

jetomkie@uncg.edu
203 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4980
Website

Chromosome segregation in meiosis, chromosomal proteins, Drosophila genetics.

Martin Tsz-Ki Tsui

Martin Tsz-Ki Tsui

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota

tmtsui@uncg.edu
306 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0087
Website

Ecotoxicology and biogeochemistry of environmental pollutants.

Gideon Wasserberg

Gideon Wasserberg

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel; MPH, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

g_wasser@uncg.edu
235A Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0098

Ecology of Infectious Diseases, Medical Entomology, Community Ecology, Mathematical Modeling of Infectious Diseases.