People

Research Faculty

Amy Adamson

Amy Adamson

Professor and Associate Dean of Research, College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

aladamso@uncg.edu
201 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0312
Website

Host and viral pathogen interactions.

Ramji Bhandari

Assistant Professor
Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor

Ph.D., Hokkaido University

rkbhanda@uncg.edu
405 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0493
Website

Gene Environment Interactions and Epigenetics

Louis-Marie Bobay

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ljbobay@uncg.edu
Eberhart Building
(336) 256-2590
Website

Microbial genomics and evolution

Mark Hens

Mark D. Hens

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Medical University of South Carolina

mdhens@uncg.edu
424 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4945

Cell adhesion and migration in vertebrate development.

Zhenquan Jia

Zhenquan Jia

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Insitute and State University (Virginia Tech)

z_jia@uncg.edu
321 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0078

Free radical toxicology; environmental cardiovascular inflammation and injury; redox signaling; amelioration of vascular dysfunction and toxicity with bioactive compounds.

Matina Kalcounis-Rueppell

Matina Kalcounis-Rüppell

Professor and Department Head
Ph.D., University of Western Ontario

matina_kalcounis@uncg.edu
435 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4960
Website

Acoustics, behavioral sciences, biodiversity and conservation, ultrasound, bats, and mice.

Karen Katula

Karen S. Katula

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University

kskatula@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4951

Molecular mechanisms regulating cell growth, differentiation, and cancer progression with a focus on the Wnt cell signaling pathway and gene regulation.

Bruce Kirchoff

Bruce Kirchoff

Professor
Ph.D., Duke University

kirchoff@uncg.edu
404 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4953
Website

Plant morphology and development, systematics

John Z. Kiss

Professor & Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Ph.D., Rutgers University

jzkiss@uncg.edu
416 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391

Plant physiology and development; space biology

Sally Koerner

Sally Koerner

Assistant Professor
Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor

Ph.D., University of New Mexico

Sally.Koerner@uncg.edu
339 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5393
Website

Ecology (community, ecosystem, and plant ecology); drivers of biodiversity across spatial scales and through time

John J. Lepri

John J. Lepri

Professor and Director of General Biology
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

jjlepri@uncg.edu
419 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4132
Website

Research in mammalian reproduction, Biology Honors liaison, and teacher licensure coordinator.

Ayalew Ligaba Osena

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Okayama University

alosena@uncg.edu
363 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0328
Website

Molecular biology, genomics and biotechnology, underutilized crops for food security and health, extremophiles for novel abiotic stress resilience traits

Yashomati Patel

Yashomati Patel

Professor
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

ympatel@uncg.edu
207 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0080

Molecular and cellular mechanisms regulating glucose homeostasis, type 2 diabetes, and breast cancer.

Promod Pratap

Promod Pratap

Adjunct Associate Professor
Ph.D., Syracuse University

pratapp@uncg.edu
322 Petty Building
(336) 334-3214
Website

Physical chemistry of membrane transport proteins.

Kasie Raymonn

Kasie Raymann

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ktrayman@uncg.edu
321 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4746
Website

Evolution and dynamics of microbial communities

David L. Remington

David L. Remington

Associate Professor
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

dlreming@uncg.edu
226 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4967
Website

Molecular genetics of plant morphological evolution, plant genomics.

Olav Rueppell

Olav Rueppell

Florence Schaeffer Distinguished Professor of Science
Ph.D., University of Wuerzburg

olav_rueppell@uncg.edu
206 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-2591
Website

Causes and consequences of social evolution in insects and honey bee health.

Joseph Santin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Wright State University

jmsantin@uncg.edu
377 Sullivan Building
(336) 334-4991

Cellular neuroscience, comparative neurobiology, electrophysiology

Malcolm D. Schug

Malcolm D. Schug

Associate Professor and Associate Head
Ph.D., Ohio State University

mdschug@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0086
Website

Evolutionary genetics, molecular population genetics.

Robert H. Stavn

Robert H. Stavn

Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

stavnr@uncg.edu
315 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 334-4979
Website

Optical oceanography, aquatic ecology, ecology, zooplankton, and lake optics.

Paul Steimle

Paul Steimle

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., Cleveland State University

p_steiml@uncg.edu
102 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4949

Regulation of cytoskeletal dynamics and cell motility.

John Tomkiel Dean

John Tomkiel Dean

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., University of Washington

jetomkie@uncg.edu
203 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4980
Website

Chromosome segregation in meiosis, chromosomal proteins, Drosophila genetics.

Martin Tsz-Ki Tsui

Martin Tsz-Ki Tsui

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Minnesota

tmtsui@uncg.edu
306 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0087
Website

Ecotoxicology and biogeochemistry of environmental pollutants.

Gideon Wasserberg

Gideon Wasserberg

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel; MPH, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

g_wasser@uncg.edu
235A Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0098

Ecology of Infectious Diseases, Medical Entomology, Community Ecology, Mathematical Modeling of Infectious Diseases.