Research Faculty | Positions | Department of Biology

Research Faculty

Amy Adamson

Amy Adamson

Professor and Associate Dean of Research, College of Arts and Sciences
Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University

aladamso@uncg.edu
201 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0312
Website

Host and viral pathogen interactions.


Ramji Bhandari

Assistant Professor
Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor

Ph.D., Hokkaido University

rkbhanda@uncg.edu
405 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0493
Website

Gene Environment Interactions and Epigenetics


Louis-Marie Bobay

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ljbobay@uncg.edu
306 Sullivan Building
(336) 256-2590
Website

Microbial genomics and evolution


Jim Coleman

Professor
Ph.D., Yale University

jscoleman@uncg.edu
304 Sullivan Building

Plant physiological ecology, plant-herbivore/plant-pathogen interactions, ecosystem ecology, plant and ecosystem responses to global environmental change, evolutionary ecology and evolutionary physiology of plant heat shock proteins


Mark Hens

Mark D. Hens

Associate Professor and Associate Head
Ph.D., Medical University of South Carolina

mdhens@uncg.edu
424 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4945

Cell adhesion and migration in vertebrate development.


Zhenquan Jia

Zhenquan Jia

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Virginia Polytechnic Insitute and State University (Virginia Tech)

z_jia@uncg.edu
321 Sullivan Building
(336) 256-0078

Free radical toxicology; environmental cardiovascular inflammation and injury; redox signaling; amelioration of vascular dysfunction and toxicity with bioactive compounds.


Karen Katula

Karen S. Katula

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Northwestern University

kskatula@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4951

Molecular mechanisms regulating cell growth, differentiation, and cancer progression with a focus on the Wnt cell signaling pathway and gene regulation.


Bruce Kirchoff

Professor
Ph.D., Duke University

kirchoff@uncg.edu
404 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4953
Website

Plant morphology and development, systematics


John Z. Kiss

Professor & Dean of the College of Arts & Sciences
Ph.D., Rutgers University

jzkiss@uncg.edu
416 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5391

Plant physiology and development; space biology


Sally Koerner

Sally Koerner

Assistant Professor
Bernard-Glickman Dean's Professor

Ph.D., University of New Mexico

Sally.Koerner@uncg.edu
339 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-5393
Website

Ecology (community, ecosystem, and plant ecology); drivers of biodiversity across spatial scales and through time


John J. Lepri

John J. Lepri

Professor, Director of General Biology
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

jjlepri@uncg.edu
419 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4132
Website

Research in mammalian reproduction, Biology Honors liaison, and teacher licensure coordinator.


Bryan McLean

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of New Mexico

b_mclean@uncg.edu
412 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0119
Website

Evolution and ecology of mammals


Ayalew Ligaba Osena

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Okayama University

alosena@uncg.edu
308 Sullivan Science Building
(336) 256-0328
Website

Molecular biology, genomics and biotechnology, underutilized crops for food security and health, extremophiles for novel abiotic stress resilience traits


Yashomati Patel

Yashomati Patel

Professor
Ph.D., Case Western Reserve University

ympatel@uncg.edu
207 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0080

Molecular and cellular mechanisms regulating glucose homeostasis, type 2 diabetes, and breast cancer.


Kasie Raymonn

Kasie Raymann

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Institute Pasteur, Paris, France

ktrayman@uncg.edu
321 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4746
Website

Evolution and dynamics of microbial communities


David L. Remington

Associate Professor and Director of Undergraduate Studies
Ph.D., North Carolina State University

dlreming@uncg.edu
226 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4967
Website

Molecular genetics of plant morphological evolution, plant genomics.


Joseph Santin

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., Wright State University

jmsantin@uncg.edu
377 Sullivan Building
(336) 334-4991

Cellular neuroscience, comparative neurobiology, electrophysiology


Malcolm D. Schug

Associate Professor and Department Head
Ph.D., Ohio State University

mdschug@uncg.edu
301 Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0086

Evolutionary genetics, molecular population genetics.


Paul Steimle

Paul Steimle

Professor and Director of Graduate Studies
Ph.D., Cleveland State University

p_steiml@uncg.edu
302 Sullivan Building
(336) 334-4949

Regulation of cytoskeletal dynamics and cell motility.


Akira Terui

Assistant Professor
Ph.D., University of Tokyo

a_terui@uncg.edu
326 Sullivan Building
(336) 334-9783, (336) 334-1628
Website

Spatial ecology in freshwater ecosystems


John Tomkiel Dean

John Tomkiel Dean

Associate Professor
Ph.D., University of Washington

jetomkie@uncg.edu
203 Eberhart Building
(336) 334-4980

Chromosome segregation in meiosis, chromosomal proteins, Drosophila genetics.


Gideon Wasserberg

Gideon Wasserberg

Associate Professor
Ph.D., Ben-Gurion University of the Negev, Israel; MPH, Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

g_wasser@uncg.edu
235A Eberhart Building
(336) 256-0098
Website

Ecology of Infectious Diseases, Medical Entomology, Community Ecology, Mathematical Modeling of Infectious Diseases.